Delhi Metro’s network expands to 277 km with opening of Magenta line

Photo: twitter.com
Posted: May 31, 2018
By City Spidey

With the opening of Magenta line section between Botanical Garden and Janakpuri West, the Delhi Metro’s network has been expanded to massive 277 km with 202 stations in together. The Delhi Metro network is one of the biggest in the world.

After the opening of Magenta line, the ever-growing ridership of Delhi Metro went up by 2 lakh. The DMRC now expects 3.9 lakh passengers to use the Magenta line corridor. On May 29, the overall line utilisation of the Metro system was 45,35,932 passengers.

The Delhi Metro has become a lifeline for the people of the national capital region. People commute by taking Delhi Metro for their all kinds of daily needs.

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has over 270 train sets of four, six and eight coaches.

The Delhi Metro has at present 8 lines – Red Line, Yellow Line, Blue Line, Green Line, Violet Line, Orange Line, Magenta Line and Pink Line.

The idea of Delhi Metro was coined in 1984. The DMRC was incorporated in May 1995 and construction started in 1998. The first section Red Line was opened to the public in 2002.

Now, the network has been expanded in such a manner that it covers almost all parts of Delhi-NCR. People consider the network as very comfortable and efficient. People reach their destinations in time as the trains run on time with great frequencies.

TAGS: Delhi Metro Magenta Line / Delhi Metro network / Delhi Metro network map / Different lines of Delhi Metro / Metro in Delhi-NCR / Delhi Metro Rail Corporation / Delhi Metro news / Delhi news