Maa Siddhidatri is worshipped on Maha Navami
Welcome To CitySpidey


Maa Siddhidatri is worshipped on Maha Navami

Today, devotees worship the ninth form of Goddess Durga i.e. Maa Siddhidatri

Maa Siddhidatri is worshipped on Maha Navami

The nine-day-long festival of Navratri is dedicated to nine different avatars of Maa Durga. According to Hindu mythology, she was created by Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu to destroy the demon Mahishaasur. This year in October, Navratri comes to an end on Maha Navami (October 14).

According to the scriptures, finally, it was the day when Maa Durga assassinated Mahishasur. This day is celebrated just before the Vijayadashami with grand celebration, joy and enthusiasm. On Ram Navami, people wear pink clothes as it is the colour of this day. Today, devotees worship the ninth form of Goddess Durga – Maa Siddhidatri.

Who is Maa Siddhidatri?

She is the holder of supernatural powers and blesses her admirers with inner awakening and power to realise their true existence. Her name has two words 'Siddhi' and 'Datri'. 'Siddhi' means supernatural energy or the ability to gain a sense of the source of existence and 'Datri' means the giver. It is believed that on this day, devotees should put all their attention towards the Nirvana cycle.

Read | Dwarka immerses in devotion during Navratri celebration

By doing meditation in such a way, the devotees receive the power present in their Nirvana Chakra by the grace of Maa Siddhidatri. Nirvana Chakra is located in the middle of our skull. This form of Maa Durga sits on a lotus and has four arms in which she holds a lotus, mace, conch shell and discus. It is believed that Lord Shiva received all the 'Siddhi' by the grace of Maa Siddhidatri, and that is why his half body was that of the Goddess; he was known as Ardhanareeswara.


The tithi of Navami will begin at 8:07 pm on October 13 and conclude at 6.52 pm on October 14.

Puja vidhi for Maha Navami

On this special day, wake up early and take a bath. Some of the people also begin their fast.
Now place the idol of the Goddess on an elevated place.
Now offer pink flowers, kajal, bangle, chuuni to the Goddess.
Now chant the mantra and do Aarti.
After this, offer the prepared Prashad to the Goddess first.
Now perform Kanya Pujan or Kumari Puja.

During Kanya Pujan, nine young girls are invited to the houses. Their feet are then washed with great care and special puja is held. According to religion, this Kanya Pujan symbolises the 9 forms of Goddess Durga.

Then they are served with the traditional poori, kala chana, and halwa to young girls who are mostly worshipped on this occasion.


Vande Vanchit Manortharth Chandrardhkrit Shekharam
Kamalsthitan Chaturbhuja Siddhidatri Yashaswanim
Swarnavarna Nirvanchakrasthita Navam Durga Trinetram
Shankh, Chakra, Gada, Padam, Dharan, Siddhidatri Bhajem
Patambar Paridhanan Mriduhasya Nanalankar Bhooshitam
Manjeer, Haar, Keyoor, Kinkini, Ratnakundal Manditam
Praful Vandana Pallavandhara Kaant Kapolan Peenpayodharam
Kamniya Lavanya Shrikoti Nimnnabhi Nitambaneem