Delhi: 50 new low floor electric buses to ply on 7 long routes
Welcome To CitySpidey


Delhi: 50 new low floor electric buses to ply on 7 long routes

CCTV, wheelchair, pink seats for ladies, special seats for sr citizens and Divyangjan in all buses

Delhi: 50 new low floor electric buses to ply on 7 long routes

New Delhi: In what comes as a New Year gift for the citizens of Delhi, CM Arvind Kejriwal flagged off 50 new low floor electric buses from Rajghat DTC Depot today. This marks another milestone in Delhi’s e-bus revolution aimed at significantly curbing pollution in the state. 

Talking about the development, Kejriwal said, “I welcome all the people of Delhi in this new era of a pollution free, secure & high-tech Delhi. 50 low-floor e-buses being added to Delhi’s public bus fleet; Delhi will now boast of 300 e-buses. 7,379 e-buses plying in Delhi, at the moment, highest ever number in the state.”

Credit: Supplied

“We are taking over 100 DMRC electric buses and will ply them on metro’s feeder routes ourselves from now on. First phase of induction completed with these 300 electric buses, now under phase two, 1500 more e-buses will be inducted by December 2023. Delhi will have a total of 10,480 buses by 2025, of which 8,280 will be electric buses, which is 80 percent of the total bus fleet. 56 bus depots are being electrified, three have been done, 17 depots will be electrified by June 2023 and 36 depots by December 2023,” he added. 

Also read: Ushering in a New Year: NDMC welcomes Delhiites in its own style

Delhi Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot and senior officers of Delhi Transport Corporation and other dignitaries were also present on the occasion. All these electric buses will run from Rohini Sector 37 Bus Depot and will ply on seven different routes of Delhi.

Credit: Supplied

Kejriwal said, “It is a matter of great happiness that 50 new electric buses are being inducted into Delhi’s bus fleet today. With this, Delhi now boasts of 300 electric buses that have been procured within a very short span of time. I congratulate all the officers behind this mission and the people of Delhi upon getting such good facilities to commute. With the induction of 50 new Electric buses today, Delhi now has 7379 buses under its city bus transportation fleet.”

“This includes 4060 buses being operated under Delhi Transport Corporation (DTC) and 3319 buses being operated under DIMTS (Delhi Integrated Multimodal Transit Systems). This is the highest ever number of buses in Delhi’s fleet. For many years, new buses weren’t procured in Delhi, but as we know, when God blesses, he does so abundantly. Right after we started procuring buses in Delhi, the mission has not seemed to stop even once,” he added.

He further said, “Today’s induction will take the number of total electric buses to 300. The Delhi Government has recently started the process of taking over the operations of 100 Electric Feeder Buses of the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) and plan to operate a total of 480 Feeder buses in the city in 2023. This means we already have 400 e-buses in Delhi, with 100 plying on metro feeder routes. Mumbai has 406 e-buses, the highest in the country. We have 6 buses behind them but we’ll be far ahead of them very soon. By the end of 2025, total bus fleet size would be 10,480 which will comprise 8,280 electric buses, nearly 80% of the total fleet size.”

All Delhi buses offer following features to passengers:

Accessible - Fully differently abled- AC Low Floor Buses

Affordable - Free ticket for women, passes

Sustainable - CNG/Electric- Zero smoke, zero noise- fully BS VI Compliant

Smart - All buses GPS Enabled- Digital ticketing, Contactless ticketing

Safe - CCTV, Panic Buttons, Hooters all connected to a 2-way Centralised Command and control centre

The new 50 buses will run on the following routes:

Route 165 - Shahbad Dairy to Anand Vihar ISBT via Rohini Sec-18 X-ing- Badli Rly. Stn.- Samaypur - GTK ByPass -Burari Xing - Wazirabad X-ing - Bhajanpura - Yamuna Vihar - Nand Nagri Depot - Dilshad Garden - Anand Vihar

Route 879 - Shahbad Dairy to Janakpuri D Block via Rohini Sec-16 - Rohini Sec-15 G-Block - Sec-9 - Sec-7/8- Madhuban Chowk - Peera Garhi- VikasPuri - Outer Ring Road - Janakpuri District Center - Uttam Nagar - C Janakpuri - SagarPur

Route 901 - Mangolpuri Y Block to Kamla Market via Madhuban Chowk - Wazirpur Depot - Azadpur - GTB Nagar - Old Delhi Sectt.- ISBT K.Gate - Red Fort - Delhi Gate - Ramlila Ground

Route 957 - Rohini Sector 22 Terminal to Shivaji Stadium via Y Block Mangolpuri - Avantika - Rohini Sec-7 Crossing - Mahindra Park - Britannia - Punjabi Bagh - Zakhira Flyover - Sarai Rohilla - Dev Nagar - Karol Bagh - Gole Market

Route 971 - Rohini Sec-1 Avantika to Anand Vihar ISBT via Rohini Sec -4,5 X-ing, Rohini Sec-7-8 X-ing, Madhuban Chowk, Wazirpur - Ashok Vihar - Azadpur - GTB Nagar - Balak Ram Hospital-Wazirabad - Bhajanpura - Yamuna Vihar - Nand Nagri Depot - Seema Puri- Anand Vihar

Route 990A - Rohini Sector 25 Deep Vihar to Shivaji Stadium via Rithala Metro Station - RohiniSec-1 & RohiniSec 7-8 - Madhuban Chowk - CD Block PitamPura - Wazirpur Depot - Punjabi Bagh, Karmpura - Patel Nagar -Karol Bagh - Gole Mkt.

Route 990EXT - Rohini Sector 23 (Pkt-C) to Shivaji Stadium via Rithala Metro Station - RohiniSec-1 & Rohini Sec 7-8 - Madhuban Chowk - PitamPura - Wazirpur Depot - Punjabi Bagh, Karmpura - Patel Nagar – Karol Bagh