East Delhi gears up for MCD polls
Welcome To CitySpidey


East Delhi gears up for MCD polls

City Spidey takes a recce of societies to gauge the pulse on the eve of municipal polls. While the RWAs were seen doing their bit to ensure a good turnout, first-time voters looked palpably excited.


East Delhi gears up for MCD polls

The RWAs and federations of Cooperative Group Housing Societies (CGHS) in East Delhi are urging residents to come out and cast their votes for the municipal elections on April 23.

“For those living in Delhi, this Sunday is an important day. I request them to cast their votes. We have to decide who will be our municipal councillor for the next five years,” emphasised JP Sharma, general secretary of Vasundhara Enclave CGHS Joint Forum.

While on a recce of apartments in Mayur Vihar Ph I Ext, City Spidey found managing-committee members busy ensuring residents’ names on the voters' list.

One could also feel palpable excitement among first-time voters.

Nineteen-year-old Ruchita Mathur, a resident of Rosewood Apartments, will be voting for the first time. Here’s what she said: “Yes, I would certainly cast my vote, and I am quite excited. We have studied about the various democratic processes in our country, but this is the first time that I will experience the whole process.”

Another first-time voter from the same apartment, Rubit Sharma, said, “Exercising our vote is a fundamental right, and our duty too. I don’t understand why instead of choosing to vote, some people stay away — and go elsewhere instead. Though it’s one's personal attitude, but I think it’s not the right approach.”

Residents of Mayur Vihar Ph I will cast their votes at polling booth in Ahlcon Public School. For Mayur Vihar Ph I Ext, the booth has been set up at ASN Senior Secondary School.

There are three polling booths for Vasundhara Enclave — two in the municipal primary school near Mangal Apartments, and another one at the municipal school in Dallupura.

For the residents of IP Extension, four polling booths have been set up near the MCD schools.

Voting will start at 7 am and continue till 5 pm.