To promote use of bicycles, DMRC earmarks fixed spots for stands at stations

Photo: City Spidey
Posted: Apr 21, 2019

With a view to encourage use of bicycles and propagate environment friendly mode of transportation among the metro commuters, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has fixed permanent space for bicycle stands at metro stations which have provision of dedicated parking lots.

At present, this facility is available at 18 parking lots at different stations across Delhi Metro network.

This facility is available at many metro stations such as - Seelampur, Shahdara, Welcome, Rithala, Saket, Arjangarh, Chattarpur, Dwarka, Dwarka Mor, Dwarka Sec 21, Mundka, Nangloi, Peeragarhi, Tughlakabad, Badarpur, Sarita Vihar and Okhla Bird Sanctuary.

The parking lots at Nawada, Uttam Nagar East and Vishwavidayala Metro stations have also been identified for permanent bicycle stands. This facility will be further extended to more stations in a phased manner. These permanent bicycle stands have the capacity for parking of multiple bicycles.

These bicycles will be provided to commuters with a locking mechanism for the safety of bicycles.

With the recent expansion of Metro network, 13 more stations have been identified for bicycle sharing service which will be functional in few weeks.

TAGS: Bicycle stands at Metro stations / DMRC bicycle stands / Bicycle facility at Metro stations / Metro stations with bicycles / Metro news