Noida: Sec 51 RWA urges NMRC to name Metro station after sector

Sector 51 RWA and FONRWA members meeting Santosh Yadav, managing director, NMRC
By Ramesh Kumar
Photo: Ramesh Kumar
Posted: Dec 28, 2016

Residents of Sector 51, Noida, along with members of Federation of Noida Residents Welfare Association (FONRWA), met Santosh Yadav, the managing director of Noida Metro Rail Corporation (NMRC), and urged him to name the upcoming Metro station near the sector’s E block after the sector. They presented their demand to Yadav in writing.

The RWA of the sector, a residents’ body of blocks D, E and F, argued in the letter that the upcoming Metro station was being developed on a piece of land that is part of plot E-1 of the sector and, therefore, not naming the station after the sector would be unfair to its residents.

The Metro station is being constructed on the link road that runs from Sector 71 intersection and passes between Sector 51 and Sector 72.

Sanjeev Kumar, general secretary of the RWA, said, “I’ve come to know that the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has put forth a proposal to name the station as Metro Station Sector 71 while NMRC has suggested naming it as Metro Station Sector 34. Both these sectors are situated far away from the upcoming station. The proposal made by these two is an act of snatching the rights and claim of Sector 51 residents on the station.”

Kumar pointed out that residents of the sector were facing a lot inconvenience due to the ongoing work. “Drainage lines of the sector have been choked due to dumping of construction waste. Green areas near the site are also being affected due to passage of cranes deployed at the site. But the authorities intend to favour other sectors in naming the Metro station,” he said. Kumar added that Yadav has assured him that he would look in to the matter.

Anil Prakash Ranotra, the RWA president, Pawan Kumar Sharma, vice-president, Jagdish Singh, joint secretary, Surinder Prakash, adviser, and Saurav Jain, an executive member, were present at the meeting.  NP Singh, president of FONRWA, and Suresh Tiwari, vice-president of FONRWA also accompanied them.

TAGS: Sector 51 / Noida / FONRWA / NMRC / Santosh Yadav / E block / Sector 71 / Sector 72 / Sanjeev Kumar / Delhi Metro Rail Corporation / Sector 34 / Anil Prakash Ranotra / Pawan Kumar Sharma / Jagdish Singh / Surinder Prakash / Saurav Jain / NP Singh / Suresh Tiwari